Skip to main content

Access Documents - Archive documents in Access Documents

How to use the Purge feature in Document Manager to archive your documents.

Document Manager does not have a dedicated archive function, but you can use the Purge feature to achieve the same result. Before running a purge, back up your DocBase folder to keep as your archived database.

⚠️Important: Make sure all users are logged out of HandiSoft and all Microsoft programs before starting.

Set up the purge

You can specify a frequency or single time for Document Manager to automatically purge documents older than a set period. To configure the purge settings:

  1. Log in to Document Manager (F10) from any HandiSoft program.

  2. From the Options menu, click General to open the General Options window.

  3. Under Purge Documents, select the period after which the documents are to be purged. This setting applies to all documents. You can also specify purge periods for individual documents or documents in a cabinet, drawer, subfolder, or folder.

  4. Under Frequency, select the frequency of the purge. In the Date and Time fields, enter the date and time of the first purge.

  5. Click Ok.

  6. Click Yes on the warning message to continue with the setting.

  7. If a document already has a different purge period set, a message will be displayed. Click Skip or Skip All to leave the purge period unchanged, or click Continue to change it.

Set individual purge periods

You can also specify separate purge periods for individual documents, or for all documents in a cabinet, drawer, folder, or subfolder.

  1. To set the purge period for a single document, in the Documents pane, right-click on the document. To set the purge period for all documents in a cabinet, drawer, folder, or subfolder, in the Cabinets pane, right-click on the cabinet, drawer, folder, or subfolder.

  2. Click Purge Settings to open the Purge Settings window.

  3. Under Select Purge Period, select the purge period for the highlighted document or documents.

    • To disable automatic purging of the document or documents, select Never.

  4. Click Ok to set the purge period.

  5. If the purge period of a document, subfolder, folder, or drawer in the highlighted cabinet, drawer, folder, or subfolder has already been set to a different value, a warning message will be displayed. Click Skip or Skip All to leave the purge period unchanged, or click Continue to change it.

Did this answer your question?